Welcome!

   So, this is the very first post to newfashiongirl.net! I don’t know why, but I guess I’ve always wanted to have my very own website. I’ve done livejournal, insanejournal, twitter, facebook… I’ve made mini-pages through AOL and all that… but this is the first time I’ve ever had a website solely dedicated to my own stuff. I really hope I keep up with it, because so far, building the website has been a pleasure.

   I suppose I should write about something interesting as my first post. What better subject is there than my mom? Mother’s Day is on the horizon, and I just have to say that my mom happens to be the best mom in the entire world. Now, I know what you’re thinking “No, my mom is, Tricia!” which, might be true for you, but for me, there couldn’t be a mom any better than my own.

   She’s always been my hero, from band aids for scraped knees, to supporting to every single thing I ever did to comforting me when I was dumped for the first time. My mom’s no-nonsense attitude and “we can fix that” way of thinking has always been the steady and strong rock with which I base my whole view of the world. She likes to tell people that I was a daddy’s girl when I was little, until I was hurt, and then I wanted my mommy. And I think that’s still true. When I’m hurting, the first person I always turn to is my mom.

   I’m tearing up as I write this, but that’s just because I love her so hard. I’m lucky enough to see her at work (we even share an office), and while we may get on each other’s nerves sometimes, most of the time we chat like old friends, and may even indulge in a little gossiping. She’s the person I’ve always wanted to be and if I’m ever lucky enough to hear the phrase “Oh god, you’re turning into your mother,” I will feel flattered.

   That being said, I finally finished my mother’s day gift for her. I think I started this about a year ago, but it’s finally done. I’d just work on it whenever I had time, and when I ran out of yarn, I’d wait until I had the extra bit of cash to buy a new skein. I really enjoyed working on this blanket, and I’m almost sad to see it go. But if it has to go someplace, there isn’t a better place for it than with my mom. I hope it keeps her warm, and I hope that whenever she pulls it out, she’ll think that she has a daughter who loves her, and looks up to her above everyone else.

   So here’s to you, Mom. For being a superhero and a queen. Here’s one person in the world who couldn’t have handled life without you. I love you.

All the details on Ravelry.

4 thoughts on “Welcome!

Leave a Reply

