Gonna try with a little help from my friends

After a long conversation with my breakfast companions yesterday, I decided there was no more room for excuses. While I’ve managed to keep off the 40 pounds I’ve lost, I’ve been stuck at the same 40 pounds for months, and I’m still not down to my lowest weight (in the past ten years). I also decided that weight loss can’t be my only goal. I need to get in better shape, so that going up and down stairs to do laundry doesn’t wear me out, and that playing with the kids doesn’t feel like a chore. I can guarantee that my cholesterol is probably high as is my blood pressure, and my energy level is absolutely abysmal.

 

To that end, I’m giving myself a set of goals to meet every week, and a reward for completing each. This week, I have three goals:

 

  1. Walk fifteen minutes every single day. If it’s raining, or too hot, do either fifteen minutes of The Firm, or two circuits of one of Allen’s callisthenic routines. The reward will be a new bottle of nail polish from ELF.

 

  1. Go an entire week without eating out at a restaurant. This goal has an exception: Thursday night after Fighter practice. Other than that, everything else I eat has to be home cooked, if not by me, than by someone else. The reward will be an ice cream cone at the end of the week.

 

  1. Log all my food and exercise for the whole week on My Fitness Pal. I don’t have to stay under their recommended calorie allotment, but I do have to keep track and hold myself accountable. The reward will be new music from iTunes.

 

Hopefully I can do this. I feel like I’ve challenged myself a lot in the past few months and have managed to come through, so this should be small potatoes. Next Sunday, depending on how well I did this week, I’ll have new goals. And I’m posting this here so you can all hold me accountable.

 

No more excuses. I know I can do this and I’m so very tired of being so very unhealthy. So here I go. Wish me luck. 

Leave a Reply

